Getting cultured at the Cup Noodles, Ramen Museums in Yokohama

The second I heard there were two museums near me dedicated to the ramen noodle, I knew I had to go. It was around a two-hour train ride to Yokohama which is home to the Shinyokohama Raumen Museum and The Cup Noodle Museum.

A hall in the museum displays Nissin products from around the world.
A hall in the museum displays Nissin products from around the world.

Below is a piece I wrote about my visit for Stars and Stripes:

Growing up in a home in which both parents worked and the older siblings took care of the younger ones, I found Nissin’s Cup Noodles a welcome regular after-school meal.

Though choosing a commuter school for college and earning stove cooking privileges drew me away from the instant lunch, the cup still holds a place in my cupboard in case of a zombie apocalypse or other disaster.

Imagine my joy when I found out that Yokohama houses two unique museums dedicated to the noodle that changed it all: the Shinyokohama Raumen Museum and The Cup Noodle Museum.

Read more from the Stars and Stripes website here…

My finished cups before they got vacuum packed.
My finished cups before they got vacuum packed.
Picking my toppings
Picking my toppings
Toppings of all kinds for the personalized Cup Noodles.
Toppings of all kinds for the personalized Cup Noodles.
My personalized Cup Noodles cup I designed for my mom gets noodled.
My personalized Cup Noodles cup I designed for my mom gets noodled.
Interactive exhibit in Cup Noodles Museum.
Interactive exhibit in Cup Noodles Museum.
CupNoodles Museum interactive display.
CupNoodles Museum interactive display.
Leave a Reply

