Kyoto in a flash

I’d been wanting to travel out of Tokyo for some time and was finally able to head to Kyoto on the Shinkansen (or bullet train to all my American peeps).
I was on a time crunch so I made the decision that even if I could only go for one night, it was still worth going to see whatever I could.
The Shinkansen was a little confusing to get to, but otherwise was a smooth way to travel (and soooo much faster than Amtrak). Usually, Kyoto would be about a 6 hour drive from Tokyo. The bullet train cuts the trip in half.

Japan's bullet train.
Japan’s bullet train.

I spent a little more than 24 hours in Kyoto and had a great time.
I visited Arashiyama (bamboo forest), the Golden PavilionKiyomizu-deraRyōan-ji, Gion district, Fushimi Inari-taisha and Ryozen Kannon.

I even stumbled upon a Hello Kitty Cafe!!

And can you guess who this is below?

Kyoto geisha

Why, yours truly, of course! I made time to partake in one of the many Geisha experience shops in Kyoto. At these shops, depending on the amount of money you plan to spend, you can be dressed and made up to be a Maiko or Geiko. The kimono and all of the pieces of fabric I was strapped into were sooo heavy. And those shoes are dangerous! I did enjoy it though and did not break an ankle or my face. I loved “Memoirs of a Geisha,” so I knew I had to do this, and do it the right way in Kyoto.

The new and old definitely meet here in Kyoto. It is beautiful and there is so much to see. My only regret is that i didn’t have more time.. and that the cherry trees have not yet blossomed. Maybe next spring!
Until next time, Kyoto!

2 thoughts on “Kyoto in a flash

Leave a Reply

